Dham Yatra

Dham Yatra

The Char Dham Yatra is one of the most sacred pilgrimage journeys in Hinduism, encompassing four revered pilgrimage sites located in the Himalayan region of Uttarakhand, India. The Char Dhams, meaning "four abodes," consist of the following:

  1. Badrinath: Dedicated to Lord Vishnu, Badrinath is situated in the Chamoli district on the banks of the Alaknanda River. The temple is one of the 108 Divya Desams, holy shrines dedicated to Lord Vishnu.

  2. Kedarnath: Located in the Rudraprayag district, Kedarnath is dedicated to Lord Shiva. It is one of the 12 Jyotirlingas, which are considered the most sacred abodes of Lord Shiva.

  3. Gangotri: Gangotri is the source of the river Ganges and is situated in the Uttarkashi district. The temple here is dedicated to Goddess Ganga, and it marks the spot where the Ganges River is believed to have descended to Earth.

  4. Yamunotri: Yamunotri is the source of the Yamuna River and is located in the Uttarkashi district. The temple here is dedicated to Goddess Yamuna, and it is believed that a bath in the holy waters of Yamunotri cleanses one of their sins.

The Char Dham Yatra holds immense significance in Hinduism, and it is believed that undertaking this pilgrimage washes away sins and facilitates the attainment of Moksha (liberation from the cycle of birth and death). Pilgrims often endure challenging terrain and weather conditions to visit these sacred sites, seeking blessings and spiritual fulfillment.

The yatra typically begins from the west with Yamunotri and Gangotri, then proceeds to Kedarnath, and concludes with Badrinath. It is usually undertaken during the summer months when the weather in the Himalayan region is more conducive to travel.

Contact Now
about image
Related Packages

Tour Category